Suspended or revoked license in Pennsylvania

Your driving privileges may be suspended or revoked for several reasons in Pennsylvania. If you are driving on a suspended or revoked license, you may be charged with a crime with enormous fines and even a jail sentence.

For driving offenses, whether criminal or other reasons, your license may be suspended or revoked.

For instance, Pennsylvania uses a points-based system for deciding when your license may be suspended for certain driving offenses. By accumulating 11 or more points on your driving record, your license may be suspended. How long the suspension will be depends on the number of points you have accumulated and whether you have previous suspensions.

Revocation of your license is the result if state considers you to be a habitual offender for having accumulated several numbers of convictions that will include: (1) serious traffic offenses; (2) DUI driving even while under a suspended or revoked license; and (3) certain accidents. It may also be suspended if you do not answer summons or citations asking you to appear for a traffic violation.

Your license may also be revoked or suspended for certain criminal convictions, as: (1) felony; (2) if a vehicle was used aggravated assault by vehicle while driving under the influence; (3) certain fatal accidents, serious injury, or severe property damage; (4) homicide by car; (5) homicide by automobile while DUI; (6) highway racing: and (7) careless & reckless driving.  There are many other reasons for your license to be suspended or revoked.

The lengths of time your license may be suspended or revoked are variable. After suspension period ends, you are required to give a reinstatement fee, other fees, or comply with other conditions before your license is reinstated. The cost of reinstatement fee is from $25 or $50 if cause of your registration suspension was due to six unpaid parking violations in some cities or if your license was suspended for an insurance violation.

While your license is suspended or revoked, you are not entitled to drive and if you do, there will be other charges with a summary offense. In some circumstances, it will even be considered as a more serious crime. For a summary offense, the fine is around $200.

If cause of license suspension or revocation is caused alcohol-offenses such as DUI, you are charged with a summary offense. Fine cost $500 and an imprisonment for between 60 and 90 days.

If you have a certain amount of alcohol in your system when you are pulled over for driving during suspension or revocation, your fine may go as high as $1,000 and imprisonment for at least 90 days.

A second offender may be charged with a 3rd degree misdemeanor with a $2,500 fine and imprisonment for at least six months.

A third offender may be charged with a 1st degree misdemeanor with a fine of $5,000 and imprisonment for at least two years.

In certain cases, your vehicle may be impounded.

A good traffic lawyer can assist you with your case in court in several ways. It is a good idea to engage a skilled  traffic ticket attorney when you get a citation.

Source: The HC News Com

(https://www.thehcnews.com/breaking/driving-while-suspended-careless-driving-dui/)

Our Articles

What Should You Do If You Get Stopped Speeding
STAY CALM AND KEEP A LOW PROFILE People will often try to talk their way out of speeding tickets. Don’t do this! If you’ve been stopped you need to realize that you are in the middle of a legal situation that requires careful consideration of your actions. Don’t dig yourself a deeper hole.&nbs...
Read More
Beating Red Light Camera with Spray Could Be Illegal
Motorists are caught running the light by means of the red light cameras. Some motorists might wish that there was a way to delete the image or a way to erase the photo of the car from the camera eye. Consumer Alert discovered a photo blocker spray that can counteract the camera -- but is […]...
Read More
A study on the use of red decals for teen drivers reduced road crashes
Last Monday, a very revealing result of a 3½-year study was published in the American Journal of Preventive Medicine that showed when other factors are taken into account, the N. J. law requiring new drivers under 21 years old to use the red decals greatly reduced road crashes among this age group ...
Read More
Bill to reform Philadelphia Traffic Court
March 18, 2013 Due to the many charges of misconduct recently thrown against the judicial body, D-181State Rep. W. Curtis Thomas introduced a bill that would reform the Traffic Court of Philadelphia. With the recent scandal splashed against the embattled court worsened by the indictment of nine form...
Read More

Contact Our Traffic Lawyers

133 Heather Road,
Suite 205,
Bala Cynwyd
PA 19004
envelope linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram